17th Annual Local Government Professionals Australia, SA Leadership Excellence Awards

Congratulations to all of the 2018 Leadership Excellence Awards winners! 

Outstanding Contribution to the Sector- Russell Peate, Mid Murray Council
Emerging Leader of the Year- Kristie Johnson, City of Charles Sturt
Leadership in Strategic Financial Management- City of Marion Open Space Transformation Team
Excellence in Local Economic Development- City of Adelaide Economic Insights Dashboard Team
Excellence in Risk Management- Rural City of Murray Bridge Lerwin Electronic Medication Team
Leadership in Community Services- City of West Torrens Swimming and Water Safety Program Team
Innovative Management Initiatives- City of Port Adelaide Enfield News and Information Videos Team
Excellence in Environmental Leadership & Sustainability- Northern Adelaide Waste Management Authority (NAWMA) Materials Recovery Facility Project Team
Community Partnerships and Collaboration- Coorong District Council Creating Coonalpyn Team
Excellence in Sustainable Infrastructure and Asset Management- Light Regional Council Accelerated Infrastructure Upgrade Team
Excellence in People and Culture- City of Marion Gap Year Program Team
Excellence in Cross Council Collaboration- Murraylands Starclub Initiative Team
Rural Management Challenge 2017- Wattle Range Council
Management Challenge 2018- Rural City of Murray Bridge 

<< All album photos 15/17 photos

Nominations for the 2018 Awards are now closed.

Click on the following to access or download:

Call for Nominations Booklet
Online Nomination Form*

*To help you prepare before accessing the Online Nomination Form, you will find the following useful:

About the Awards

The Local Government Professionals Australia, SA Leadership Excellence Awards Program recognises outstanding achievement and innovation in local government.  The association is pleased to present a program that not only recognises excellence, but contributes to the advancement and improvement of local government as a sector. The Awards will be presented at the 2018 Gala Awards Dinner to be held on Friday 6 April 2018 at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.  Last year the event sold out with 495 attendees.  The winning team of the 2018 State Management Challenge will be announced at the dinner. We will also be recognising the winning team of the 2017 Rural Management Challenge. 


The overall aim of the Local Government Professionals Australia, SA Leadership Excellence Awards is to:

  • Raise the standard and quality of local government leadership and management across local government in South Australia.
  • Raise the profile of local government professionals
  • Recognise excellence demonstrated by local government professionals
  • Facilitate connections and sharing across local government

Benefits of nominating

The many benefits of being an Award nominee include:

  • Recognition of leadership, innovation, excellence and effort.
  • Boosting the pride and motivation of employees
  • Making network connections and sharing achievements with other local government entities
  • Reflecting on the goals, strategies and vision that led to the success of the project and using those insights to drive even greater success in the future
  • Showcasing the work of local government professionals and the sector
  • Public acknowledgement of finalists
  • National Recognition-  the winners from the categories of Innovative Management Initiatives, Emerging Leader of the Year, Excellence in Environmental Leadership and Sustainability, Leadership in Community Services and Community Partnerships and Collaboration will be shortlisted as finalists in the Local Government Professionals Australia Federation Awards founded by our national office.  These National Awards will be presented at the National Congress Dinner in August 2018. State winners of these Awards will be offered heavily discounted rates to attend the national event. 


Mailing Address:  5 Hauteville Tce EASTWOOD   Phone: 8291-7990   Fax: 8451-1568   E-mail: admin@lgprofessionalssa.org.au

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software