Recognising outstanding achievement and innovation

in local government

About the Awards

The Local Government Professionals Australia, SA Leadership Excellence Awards Program recognises outstanding achievement and innovation in local government.  The association is pleased to present a program that not only recognises excellence, but contributes to the advancement and improvement of local government as a sector.


The overall aim of the Local Government Professionals Australia, SA Leadership Excellence Awards is to:

  • Raise the standard and quality of local government leadership and management across local government in South Australia
  • Raise the profile of local government professionals
  • Recognise excellence demonstrated by local government professionals
  • Facilitate connections and sharing across local government

Benefits of nominating

The many benefits of being an Award nominee include:

  • Recognition of leadership, innovation, excellence and effort
  • Boosting the pride and motivation of employees
  • Making network connections and sharing achievements with other local government entities
  • Reflecting on the goals, strategies and vision that led to the success of the project and using those insights to drive even greater success in the future
  • Showcasing the work of local government professionals and the sector
  • Public acknowledgment of finalists

Key Dates

20th Annual Leadership Excellence Awards Gala Dinner: 

Friday 21 May 2021
Adelaide Convention Centre

Pre dinner arrivals: 6:45PM
Dinner: 7:30PM
Dress: Cocktail

Online registrations have now closed, however if you missed out and would still like to attend please contact Hannah on 08 8291 7995 or email


> Download the Call for Nominations Brochure

> Frequently Asked Questions

Finalists announced so far:

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

Emerging Leader of the Year

Leadership in Community Services and Development

Excellence in Environmental Leadership and Sustainability

Community Partnerships and Collaboration

Excellence in Cross Council Collaboration

Excellence in Local Economic Development

Excellence in Customer Service or Experience


For more information or to become an award or event partner please contact:


Hannah Knott
Events and Administration Officer

  p: 08 8291 7995

Past Award Winners

2020 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 

Mailing Address:  5 Hauteville Tce EASTWOOD SA 5063   Phone: 8291-7990;   Fax: 8451-1568   Email:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software